Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
9800 Willow Springs Rd.
Willow Springs, IL 60480
Nature Center: Birding, Hike, Nature Education, Picnic, Walk
The Little Red Schoolhouse is part of the historic past of Palos Hills in which it is more or less centrally located. It was built in 1886 to replace a one-room log cabin school the first school building of the area. The Little Red Schoolhouse was originally located a little north of where old 99th Street joins the Black oak Trail. Country lanes used by its former students still can be seen and enjoyed by hikers. In 1932 the school house was moved to Boy Scout Camp Kiwanis. The actual moving was done by a local resident with only one mule and log rollers. Classes continued in this building until 1948. In 1952 ft was moved to Its present site. In 1955 Its doors reopened as a school unique and always interesting. For, in place of the three R’s, fascinating stories are told to children and grown-ups who visit here, stories about forest preserve plants and animals and the earth of which they live.